Pumpkin Spice Scones (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Brr….42 degrees outside right now?! Its really starting to feel like fall! YAY! So, here’s another autumn recipe….pumpkin spice scones!! YUM! These are seriously delicious! Not your typical dry scone, these are moist and full of spicy fall flavor! And they are just sweet enough with the glaze drizzled on top. And the best part?! They’re super easy and quick to mix up and are both gluten and dairy free! Score!!  I cut the recipe in half to only make 4, but once I tried these, I kinda wish i hadn’t! LOL They’re that good! These made me think of my mini pumpkin spice muffins, which I’ll be making soon, as I am now craving them! (I just checked and now that I’m dairy free too I’ll need to sub out the butter for dairy free margarine instead!) LOL Honestly ANYTHING pumpkin sounds amazing right now…. I’m sure I’m gonna be all pumpkin-ed out by Thanksgiving!! Ahem…..yeah right! LOL You can’t ever have too much of a good thing right?! Haha…..so give these both a try…. they are melt in your mouth delicious! Happy Fall! Enjoy! 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Scones  (Printable Version)

Ingredients:
1 cup gluten free flour

½ tsp xanthan gum
3 1/2 Tbsp sugar
½ Tbsp baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon cloves
1/8 teaspoon ginger
3 Tbsp non dairy butter
1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 ½ Tbsp almond milk
1 large egg

Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons water
Directions:

Combine the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Cut in the butter. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, milk and egg.  Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients to form the dough into a ball. Pat dough into an inch thick circle, cut into wedges and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 425 F for 14-16 minutes, or until light brown. Place on wire rack to cool. Drizzle with glaze.

Leave a Comment