Italian Baked Ziti

I know, I know….. I led you on in my last post with the promise of an amazing pasta recipe to use up the Nomato Sauce you just made! By the way…….how was it?! I’ve made like 3 batches since I posted the recipe and countless casseroles and other dishes using it! Which kind of explains why I haven’t gotten to posting anything yet! LOL  My freezer is slowly filling up (yay!) so I’m hopeful I’ll have a good variety and stash of meals ready to go before baby gets here! The countdown has begun….. down to just 1 more month…although it could technically be any day right?! You just never know! Between that and being crazy busy with work lately, posting has kinda got put on the back burner. So…..I’m going to live up to my word now and give you one of the best and yummiest Italian recipes that you’ll ever eat! Again…… gluten free, tomato free, and dairy free (if you sub out the cheese with soy cheese).  I’ve made this a couple different ways, and this one is the by far the best, although they’re all really tasty! Having the Italian sausage really adds to the Italian flavor, and using the penne instead of spaghetti gives it a little more sustenance and holds up better…no one likes soggy pasta! LOL This dish is super addictive, or maybe its just me since its been so long since Ive had anything like this!? And as bad as it sounds, and as bad as pregnancy indigestion can be, this is something I don’t mind tasting the rest of the day! Haha…..sorry, tmi right?!  Anyhow….. give this one a try! Its quick and easy to make, especially if you have the sauce already made. If you don’t, you can find the recipe for homemade Nomato Sauce here. Enjoy 🙂

Italian Baked Ziti (Printable Version)

Italian Baked Ziti

Ingredients:
•    2 Tablespoons Oil
•    1 & ½ teaspoons Minced Garlic
•    1 small Onion, Diced
•    1 & 1/2 pounds Italian Sausage
•    1 pound Ground Turkey
•    2 cups Nomato Sauce (see recipe)
•    2 teaspoons Italian Seasoning
•    Salt & Pepper, to taste
•    16 ounce Package Uncooked Gluten-Free Penne Pasta
•    1 to 2 cups Shredded Sharp White Cheddar Cheese
•    ½ cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
•    Minced Dried Parsley

Directions:

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and sauté until it starts to soften. Add the Italian sausage and ground turkey and cook until browned. Stir in the salt, pepper & Italian seasoning.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to the package directions until not quite al dente. Drain the pasta and rinse under cool water to stop the cooking and cool it down. Place the pasta back in the pot and stir in the meat, sauce and cheeses and toss to combine.
Place pasta into a greased 9×13 inch baking dish OR (2) greased 8×8 inch baking dishes.* Sprinkle with cheese and parsley.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until bubbling. Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes before serving.
*** If making 2 pans, bake one and cool the other before freezing. When ready to cook the frozen casserole, defrost overnight in the fridge and bake normally or until cooked through.

3 Comments »

  1. All I can say is thank goodness you’re not also dairy free! This looks delish!

    • NutMeg Said:

      I am lucky I can tolerate cheddar cheese, but I can’t have any other dairy! I made this dish so it doesn’t have any of the typical cheeses Italian dishes usually have like ricotta and mozzarella, but I think it’s probably healthier this way, and just as tasty! 🙂 hope you enjoy!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

