Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten & Dairy Free)

I know, I know……I’m kinda on a pumpkin kick these days! Can you tell I’m ready for fall!? LOL  But really, what are you supposed to do with a huge ole can of pumpkin, especially when you’re freezer is full! I’m ok with it, cause I love pumpkin, so I’ll just keep the delicious pumpkin recipes coming! If you haven’t made the pumpkin swirl brownies I posted last you definitely need to! I made them in a mini muffin tin the 2nd time i made them and OMG, so stinking good! Addicting actually….good thing I can blame eating 4 of them in a day on being a prego craving! LOL Anyways…on to today’s recipe; Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies. I had to make these twice because the first time i made them, I used the entire cup of shortening; bad mistake because I didn’t realize that shortening is made of mostly soybean oil, and with a soy allergy, lets just say the stomach-ache wasn’t worth it! But…these cookies were sooo yummy i wanted more! So, after I gave the entire batch away to hubbies office (which were devoured in less then 5 minutes!) I gave it another try! I substituted half the shortening for applesauce, and used my non-dairy butter for the other half instead of shortening. They turned out a little lighter and fluffier then the first batch but less greasy and much more healthy! They were eaten very happily and with no tummy troubles! All in all a winner in the end thats not only super tasty, but allergy friendly, and quick and easy to make! That said… hope you’ll give them a try and enjoy! 🙂

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (Printable Version)

Pumpkin Choc Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
•    1/2 cup shortening or non-dairy butter
•    1/2 cup applesauce
•    1 cup white sugar
•    1 cup canned pumpkin puree
•    1 egg
•    2 cups gluten free flour
•    1 tsp xanthan gum
•    1 tsp baking soda
•    1 tsp cinnamon
•    1 tsp salt
•    1 cup Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1.    Cream shortening/butter, applesauce, sugar, and pumpkin.
2.    Add egg and mix well.
3.    Add sifted dry ingredients and mix.
4.    Mix in chocolate chips.
5.    Using a cookie scoop, drop onto greased cookie sheet.
6.    Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.
7.    Remove from oven and cool on pan 3 minutes.
8.    Remove from pan and place on cooling rack.

2 Comments »

  1. Geraldine Said:

    these look good!

  2. bevsfoodhaven Said:

    yummy


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

