Chicken Corn Chowder (Gluten & Dairy Free)

So apart from not having any time (although i DID finish my very last class last nite and i take the exam tonight! YAY!) we’ve been trying to limit our grocery spending. I’ve gotten organized, and have been sticking to it and can’t believe how much money we’re saving! This is partly because it’s pretty darn expensive to start a new career, especially when you go from a steady paycheck to commission based sales, and who knows when my next paycheck will be! We also have a whole pantry and freezer full of food. So…now I look at my week and how much stuff i need to do. That determines if I’ll have time to cook or not! LOL Either way i try to pick out quick and easy recipes, that either I can do, or hubby can help out with. I’m looking forward to a little more time to get back to cooking here really soon!

Another thing I look for is how much its going to make. Are there going to be leftovers?Also is the recipe budget friendly?! I use a weekly food planner to schedule out my meals for the week, determine the list of ingredients and then consult my freezer, fridge and pantry. Whatever i don’t have goes on the list. And if you haven’t downloaded a list app for your phone…do it! Oh my goodness, I don’t know how i survived without one before! LOL It’s great! I can make my grocery list right on my phone. I even programmed all the prices into it so when i make my list i know exactly how much we’ll need to spend for that weeks groceries. Then when you shop you just check it off right on your phone! No more forgetting the list on the fridge! LOL My attempt is $50 or less a week….and amazingly I’ve stuck to it, and even spent as little as $35 a week! I honestly didn’t know i had it in me! I’m the kind of girl who just buys whatever she wants…. but for now we’re on a tight budget. Hope that helps you out…its a great way to be both organized and save some money!

Now on to the recipe…. super easy, pretty quick to make…. and a great way to use up that leftover roast chicken from the weekend! LOL It made a huge pot, so we’ve been eating off it all week….score! No more cooking for me this week! It’s both gluten and dairy free, but still sooo delicious! Who doesn’t love chicken corn chowder right?! Enjoy 🙂

Chicken Corn Chowder  (Printable Version) Chicken corn chowder

Ingredients:

1-15 oz can kernel corn and 1-15 oz can cream corn
1/3 cup cooked & crumbled bacon
2 green onions
3 medium potatoes, any kind, skins left on
2 tablespoons gluten free flour
3 cups almond milk
2-3 cups chicken broth
1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
2 cups cooked chicken, chopped or shredded

Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a large stock pot, let a dash of oil heat up. Wash and chop the potatoes, leaving skins on. Slice the green onions and separate the greens from the whites. Place the potatoes and white onion pieces into the pot and cook over medium heat 2-3 minutes. Sprinkle in the flour and cook, stirring constantly, for about 1 minute. Pour in the milk, chicken broth, thyme, parsley, salt, and pepper, stirring well. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. Add the corn, chicken, and bacon. Cook over low heat until heated through, about 5 minutes. Garnish with green onions, bacon, and cheddar cheese.

 

Leave a Comment

