Oatmeal Crumble Fruit Tarts (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Oh no! Company’s coming for dinner and i forgot to make a dessert! Sound familiar?! (Maybe it’s just me!? LOL) This is my go-to recipe for this little problem. They are super quick and easy to make and you can change out the pie filling each time so its different, cause heaven forbid we have the same dessert over and over again right!?  Each and every kind i make are all soooo stinking tasty, and both gluten AND dairy free, wohoo!! I’ve finally gotten around to actually getting this onto paper cause before I’d just kinda throw it together from an idea in my mind…but these are tooo good to not share! And the best part is you can pretty much use any filing you want. You can use canned pie filling, canned fruit if you want to cut down on the sugar, or make your own fruit filling using fresh fruit! This recipe was inspired by my 5-Fruit Oatmeal Crumb Pie, so if you need a big pie or tart, I hope you try that one out! You could even use the filling fro my French Apple Pie instead too. Everything, especially with fruit, seems to taste better with the oatmeal crust! And as usual, I’m running late so this is gonna be the shortest post ever. I hope you give these a try… but don’t say i didn’t warn ya; these are addicting! Like seriously if there’s leftovers i eat it cold for breakfast kind of addicting! Spoken like a true foodie there huh?! LOL Enjoy 🙂

Oatmeal Crumble Fruit Tarts (Printable Version)Fruit Tarts

Crust & Topping:

1-1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

1 cup gluten free  flour

½ tsp xanthan gum

¼ tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 stick non-dairy butter, melted

In a large bowl, combine the oats, flour, gum, cinnamon, brown sugar and butter; set some aside for the topping. Press remaining mixture onto the bottom and up the sides of a 5 greased mini tart pans (4 inch).

Filling:

1 can Wilderness “more fruit” pie filling, any flavor

Evenly divide the pie filling among the tart pans and sprinkle with reserved oat mixture. Bake at 375 F for 30-40 minutes or until topping is lightly browned. Cool on a wire rack.

2 Comments »

  1. Lee Said:

    Thanks for the great, simple recipe for dessert. I don’t see a temp. for baking. Mine turned out well at 350, but not sure if that was optimal. I left out the xanthan gum, it’s not my favorite for consistency and I think the crust was fine without. Also didn’t have pie filling on hand, just used some canned cherries with a little sugar sprinkled on before the topping. It’s great that you can alter the fillings based on what’s in the pantry, I’ll be experimenting with more fillings.

    • NutMeg Said:

      Oh no! I didn’t, did I! That’s what I get for being in such a rush! I baked mine at 375 F. The first time i tried this I didn’t use the xanthan gum either but mine was a little crumbly, so no i just throw it in everything! LOL And yes! I love that you can use any filling. I’ve used fresh fruit and actually, this crust/topping is originally from my fruit pie recipe, I just love them in little individual “pie” form too! They’re just so much cuter! Thanks for trying it out! Glad you liked it, and thanks for the heads up on the temp! I’ll get that fixed. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

