Bear Claw Popcorn (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Ugh its Monday, and I’m sitting here in bed with my laptop, not feeling so hot, but bored outta my mind already! I hate being sick…..so, why not get a blog post done?! I know this is what I’m gonna eat as soon as I feel better! I mean… look at it! Can ya blame me?! Its too bad medicine didn’t taste like this right?! We’d probably all just be addicts then! LOL Anyhow…. I keep seeing all these delicious looking gourmet popcorn flavors at the store now. And yes, they are gluten free, but they are full of dairy and soy and who knows what else! I decided to make my own….its really not that hard! And…trying to think of flavors, I used the Denali ice cream for inspiration! (yet another thing I miss and can’t have! LOL)  This melt in your mouth caramel corn is chock full of crunchy cashews, chewy coconut and marshmallows, and drizzled with dark chocolate! You can’t go wrong with that combo! You could use the basic caramel corn part and then add whatever extra ingredients you wanted…. the secret ingredient though, is the baking soda. Just wait and watch when it hits the caramel sauce! And they say baking really is a science! LOL Guess it’s kinda true sometimes! Anyhow… you can’t beat gourmet popcorn for a snack, especially when its below freezing and everything is covered in snow outside. When I made this, and hubs came in, he said the whole house smelled like the caramel corn like at a carnival! That much was true…..what a unique and yummy smell in my nice warm cozy kitchen! I can guarantee that this is gonna taste even better than the carnivals though! Give it a try and enjoy! 🙂

Bear Claw Popcorn  (Printable Version)

Ingredients: Bear Claw Popcorn

  • 1 reg. bag natural salted popcorn, popped
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy butter
  • 3 Tbsp light corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
  • 3/4 cup cashews
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Directions:

Preheat oven to 200° F.  Place the popcorn in a large bowl.

In a small saucepan melt the butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup.  Heat over medium heat until bubbly around the edges, stirring occasionally.  Continue cooking for 5 minutes without stirring.  Remove from heat and stir in baking soda until it is foamy.

Pour the caramel over the popcorn and toss until evenly coated.  Transfer it to an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

Microwave the chocolate chips for 30 seconds at a time, stirring, until it is melted.  Drizzle half of the chocolate over the popcorn and mix in the marshmallows, cashews and coconut. Drizzle the rest of the chocolate over the top of the popcorn.  Allow to cool until it is firm.

 

Leave a Comment

