Breakfast Baked Potatoes

I know, I know…..I did it again! I’ve been so terrible at keeping up with my posts! That is one of my New Years Resolutions though! LOL Maybe if I schedule blogging into my calendar, it will actually get done on a more regular basis?! That and clean out my closet… maybe I’ll tackle THAT for new years! Good luck ME! LOL

I really did have big plans this holiday season to bake all kinds of Christmas goodies…. and pretty much that never happened! LOL I did finally break down and make 1 batch of (the BEST!) sugar cookies, which will be showing up on here soon…. and some Chex Mix. Got my sweet AND salty……and I was set! The one great thing about food allergies is that it makes it reallllly easy to say no to all those holiday treats (you know the ones…. the counter full of Xmas goodies at work, the plates of cookies from friends, family and neighbors!) But… when you physically cannot have it or you get sick… its just plain common sense to say nope!  So sticking to just the one goodie this year was probably a good thing, cause I tend to eat my own stuff! I’m thinking if i can nip it in the bud and have the willpower to not even MAKE it, then I won’t have to depend on having that much needed willpower the entire next week of passing on devouring the treat! LOL

Ok then…..on to the recipe! These breakfast baked potatoes are the best! Just gonna tell ya up front though…. get the BIG potatoes!! I got up yesterday morning to make these and found a bag of small russet potatoes on my counter (thanks honey! LOL) and i thought how in the world is this gonna work! But…. i made it work….I’m awesome like that! 😉 And I’m not gonna say these don’t take some time, cause they do! Don’t you just love when you spend hours preparing a meal and then its gone in like 5 minutes! It had BETTER be much appreciated!! The other handy thing to know is when scooping out the insides of the potatoes, use a grapefruit spoon, you know, the spoon with the little knife ridges on it! Worked like a charm! Soooo much easier! Other than that you can’t really screw these up….even if the potatoes are too small and the eggs didn’t quite make it INTO the potato as planned, you just grab a spoon and scoop it up the best ya can!! Enjoy, and Happy New Year! 🙂

Breakfast Baked Potatoes (Printable Version)

Ingredients:Breakfast Baked Potatoes
baked potatoes, slightly cooled (see below)
melted non-dairy butter
seasoning salt and pepper
shredded (soy) cheddar cheese                                                                                                                                                                                     eggs
additional fillings of your choice: sautéed vegetables, green onions, bacon, ham, etc.

Instructions:

Bake your potatoes:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Scrub potatoes thoroughly and pat dry. Prick each potato with a fork a few times. Rub each potato with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Place on a foil lined baking sheet and bake for 45-60 min, or until tender.

Cool oven to 350 degrees. Slice a layer off the top of each potato.  Use a grapefruit spoon to gently scoop out insides, leaving a thin layer of potato against the skin. Reserve scooped potato for another use. Brush inside of each potato with melted butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Sprinkle a layer of shredded cheese into each potato and add fillings as desired (vegetables, diced meat, etc.)  Fill each potato about 3/4 full.  Crack one egg into each potato.  Sprinkle with a little more salt and pepper.  Top with additional cheese and toppings. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the eggs are cooked.

 

5 Comments »

  1. trialsinfood Said:

    yum! looks delish! happy new year and good luck with the closet!

    • Brenda Said:

      I had the thought in my head already but wanted to see pictures and this was my favorite. I tried it this way and my only regret was that the skin fell apart a little so it wasn’t perfectly shaped. I’m cooking at almost 9,000 feet elevation so I reduced heat and time a little but still, I think I cooked it too long. If it were just me I’d be fine with a bare baked potato or a hard boiled egg and raw vegetables, but when you cook for a man more than twice your size and it’s -15 degrees out… I added ham, cheese and the works. Thanks for the tip. ~B

      • NutMeg Said:

        Thanks for tryin em! I had one of mine fall apart too when I hollowed it out, so I just wrapped it up in foil while baking the egg part and it actually held together really well! Hope that helps! 🙂

      • Brenda Said:

        Nutmeg: Thanks for the foil tip, I should have thought of that. My husband loved it and I didn’t have to stand over a splattering greasy frying pan making hash browns! Win-win!

    • NutMeg Said:

      Thank you! And it took me awhile, but I finally got to the closet cleaning and I actually got rid of a bunch of stuff! YAY! LOL


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

