Gluten & Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

Ok, I just have to say it….I LOVE pie!! And I never make it enough, simply because i HATE making pie crust! LOL I wish Pillsbury would just get on the gluten free ball and make those wonderful, ready made pie crusts and stuff, although i doubt they would be dairy free too. Anyhow….. I’m having Thanksgiving at MY house this year, in my wonderful new kitchen (photos coming soon, we’re just putting the finishing touches on!! YAY!) and so I figured I better start doing a test run on some things! Like the pumpkin pie, did you notice how i totally started with dessert?!? LOL  Yep…..that’s me, a dessert first kinda girl! I love pumpkin pie……and before I had to go dairy free, I just made a crustless pumpkin pie, and it was great! But……. now that I can’t have any dairy….. I was like, OMG WHAT am i gonna do!?! You can’t have Thanksgiving, or fall for that matter, without the pumpkin pie!! That’s when i decided I better get my butt into gear and get this pumpkin pie thing done! So…..here it is! And not to toot my own horn or anything but……..its amazing! Hubby had a piece of “regular” pumpkin pie (thanks mom!) and a piece of MY pie, and after the official taste test… you can not even tell the difference! Same taste, same texture! And the crust…. well lets just say I’m sold on this, because it tastes just like a regular pie crust, but guess what?! NO ROLLING!! And NO breaking! This crust is wonderful!! Its sooo easy to make, just mix and stick! LOL And it holds together! I’m on a little bakers high right now on the results of this pie! Pretty sure I’m set for Thanksgiving now! Haha…..of course just in case, I’d better make a few more…….you know, “just in case!” LOL Ok….. so give this your own test run……hope you enjoy it as much as i do!! Your gluten and dairy eaters will never even know the difference! 🙂

Gluten & Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup White Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Ginger
  • 11/4 Teaspoon Ground Cloves
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 15-ounce Can Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Full Fat Canned Coconut Milk
  • 1 Unbaked GF Pie Shell  (see below for recipe)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 425ºF. Combine the sugars, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and salt in a small bowl. In a large bowl, beat the eggs. Beat in the sugar mixture, pumpkin, and vanilla until smooth. Fold in the coconut milk.

Pour the filling into the unbaked pie crust and bake for 15 minutes. Reduce the temperature to 350ºF and continue to bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a knife inserted comes out clean. Allow the pie to cool on a wire rack for 2 hours. Serve or refrigerate until ready to serve.

 Gluten & Dairy Free Pie Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 Cups Gluten Free Flour
  • 3/4 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1-1/2 Teaspoons Sugar
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 6 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • 3 Tablespoons Cold Water

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients, and press the dough into a 9-inch pie pan.  Fill and bake as directed above.

2 Comments »

  1. A Table in the Sun Said:

    Just in time. I was smacked out of sleep by the dairy-buzzing in my head from eating store-bought pumpkin pie 3 times in the past two days. Thanks for saving me from myself. I just put it in the oven,

  2. […] to do, like plan the menu and then do a test drive on my new recipes! Ive already done that with my GF & DF pumpkin pie, but now here is the apple pie! I mean, you can’t just have one pie right?! Options are […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

