Bacon & Corn Pancakes (Gluten & Dairy Free)

So I know this is 2 pancake recipes in a row, but i just couldn’t help myself! LOL  And these are SO much more then just pancakes…..I like to think of them as MANcakes! Hahaha. But seriously….. these pancakes are meant for a man. Full of amazing flavor AND texture, these are sure to please any man with all the bacon and cheese! Plus they’re really filling! I love the crunch of the corn mixed with the flavors of sweet caramelized onion and  smokey bacon. Top that all off with some pure maple syrup….. it’s simply heavenly! (I used real cheddar cheese, but to go full-on dairy free either omit it or sub it out for soy cheese!) I know they sound a little weird…. but I like to think outside the box and try new things! I’m doing that with my fashion too. I’m trying to embrace all the new fall fashion styles….and I was up LATE last night digging through my closet and combining clothes to make new and stylish outfits! Its actually really fun and addicting (kind of like cooking! LOL) and I’ve already got a good 10 outfits made up, and my brain is already putting together more! I’m thinking this is gonna be a time saver for me in the mornings……which just means more time for blogging! LOL Speaking of which…..back to the recipe! I don’t know if I would eat these for breakfast even though they are pancakes…..we had em for dinner last nite and they’re definitely a full on meal! I could barely finish one! It doesn’t really matter WHEN you try em as long as you DO try em! That said…..enjoy! 🙂

Bacon and Corn Pancakes (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

½ cup crumbled bacon bits
1/3 cup chopped sweet onion
1 cup gluten free flour

½ tsp xanthan gum
1 green onion, minced
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Dash paprika
2/3 cup almond milk
1 large egg, beaten
1 tablespoon canola or vegetable oil
1 cup frozen(cooked), canned or fresh corn
1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
warm pure maple syrup

Directions:

1. In a medium skillet, cook the onion until softened.

2. While the onion is cooking, combine the flour, gum, chives, baking powder, salt and pepper in a medium bowl. Stir in the milk, egg and oil, just until moistened. Stir in the bacon, onion, corn and cheese. The mixture will be thick.

3. Heat a griddle to 350 degrees. Pour a heaping 1/4-cup of the batter onto the griddle and cook until it is golden brown- 3 to 4 minutes per side. Repeat with the remaining batter.

4. Serve stacks of pancakes with warm maple syrup.

Leave a Comment

