Cranberry & Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (Gluten & Dairy Free)

The weather is finally cooling down and I’m really looking forward to fall! Autumn is my absolute favorite time of year! The crisp cool air, but its just the right temperature with the sun still shining. Being able to wear jeans and sweaters and boots and scarves! I’m even back to being a brunette, which seems fitting for fall! LOL Going for a walk with all the beautiful fall colors and the leaves falling all around you! I’m ready for a bonfire and smores, laying out and watching the stars, a fire burning in the fireplace! There is just something so cozy and comfy about fall-time isn’t there!? Not to mention the amazingly tasty fall food! Fresh crisp apples right off the tree! Then there is the baking! Spicy & chewy gingersnap cookies, pumpkin spice anything, really!, apple crisp, cranberries and oats, mmmm…… I’m looking forward to home-made soups and chowders and biscuits too though……am i making you hungry yet?!? I just LOVE food and making new things, as well as the good ole faves! AND, I just realized this morning that it has been 1 YEAR of blogging for me!! That’s amazing; time sure flies by huh?! So, to celebrate a years worth of blogging “living gluten free deliciously”, I’m gonna share with you a new recipe, that is rapidly becoming one of my new favorites! I made a batch of these the other day and of course we ate them all so quickly, I had to make another batch and I immediately put them in the freezer so I’ll have them to snack on as needed. There is something about the cranberry and dark chocolate combo that intrigued me. That mixed with a chewy oatmeal cookie with just a hint of cinnamon…. this one is definitely a keeper! They are best the first day or two, then they kinda dry out. Don’t get me wrong, they’re still tasty, I’m just more of a soft and chewy cookie kinda girl then the dry crunchy messy ones! I bet a little orange peel in there would be good too! I’ll have to try that one out next time! So….as you can tell by the beginning of my post that there will be lots and lots of new recipes coming soon! I am in a baking mood! Bring on the fall!!  Enjoy! 🙂

Cranberry & Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup non dairy butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup gluten free flour
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 3/4 cup Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugars. Add egg and vanilla and mix well.
  3. Add flour, gum, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt and mix well.
  4. Add oats, cranberries and chocolate chips and mix well.
  5. Using a cookie scoop, place 1/4-cup sized dough balls onto greased cookie sheets.
  6. Bake 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit on pan 3 minutes.
  7. Remove to wire racks to cool.
1 Comment »

  1. patrichmond Said:

    Congratulations on your blog anniversary! It takes a lot of energy to do what you do and to do it consistently like you have! You’re an inspiration to me, and I don’t even cook! But I always enjoy reading your posts with your personality shining through. And your recipes sound yummy!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

