Oatmeal Raspberry Chocolate Chip Scones (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Ahhh….Saturday morning! I’m not quite so rushed as I am during the week… so I thought I’d take some time this morning and try out a new recipe. I DO have to work today though, so this will be a great way to start my day! And…. I’ll have something to snack on while I’m at work! Its been a long, stressful week…. but at least I had something to cheer me up!! We got the rest of our cabinets last nite so….. we can finally finish the kitchen! 3 months is a LONG time without a kitchen! LOL  Once its done, I’ll get some photos up, but for now…. I’ll just share this amazing recipe. These scones are pretty easy to make…..and oh they are worth it!! I couldn’t believe how tasty they were! I love the combo of raspberry and chocolate, and they compliment each other well! These are light and moist, not your typical super dry scone! The oats give it something extra too (and doesn’t make you feel so guilty eating them!) LOL. Anyways….give these a try and enjoy! 🙂

Oatmeal Raspberry Chocolate Chip Scones (Printable Version)

Ingredients:
1 egg
1/2 cup almond milk
1 2/3 cups GF flour

1 tsp xanthan gum
1 1/3 cups old-fashioned oats
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pinch of nutmeg
10 tablespoons cold non-dairy butter
3/4 cup fresh raspberries
1/3 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.
2. Whisk together the egg and milk and set aside.
3. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, gum, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender until crumbly. Pour the egg and milk mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
4. Gently fold in the raspberries and chocolate chips.
5. Divide dough into 9 even portions and place on baking sheet.

6. Sprinkle with sugar.
7. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Comment

