Calzones (Gluten-Free)

For whatever reason yesterday, I was craving a calzone. One of the local pizza joints has what they call, “Oven Subs” and on Tuesdays, they’re BOGO! We used to get those alot, before I realized my food allergies. So…. I decided that I would just make my own, and they were going to be fantastic! I mean really…..who needs fast food anyways right?! LOL  (i do, i do! but maybe a home-made healthier version of things yeah?!) I’m not supposed to have yeast or dairy….but it’s been a reallllly long time, so i figured meh, why not?! So this is my BIG splurge! And ooooooooomg were they SO worth it! A-maaa-zing! This recipe can be varied as much as you want with the toppings, I went with Hawaiian cause its my fave! I don’t use sauce because I can’t have tomatoes, but feel free to use any sauce you want! These were absolutely fabulous! When we cut them and pulled out a slice, the cheese would string out with it, you know, like you see in only the best, most yummiest of pizzas! Hahaha….yeah, they were THAT good! I was definitely impressed with how they turned out…..they were just as good as the ones I was missing! That said…..hope you’ll give it a try and enjoy! 🙂

Calzones (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Hodgson Mill GF pizza crust
  • Toppings
    • 1 package mozzarella cheese slices
    • 1 package Canadian bacon
    • 2 green onions, sliced
    • Chopped up honey ham deli meat
    • Fresh pineapple, chopped
    • Bacon bits
    • Parmesan cheese
    • Italian or pizza seasoning

Directions:

  • Spray 2 pizza pans with non-stick spray and sprinkle with cornmeal
  • Prepare crust as directed on box just thru the rise part.
  • Meanwhile, prepare your toppings
  • Once the dough has risen, top one of the pizza crusts with your toppings. (I layered mine with cheese, meat the rest of the toppings, the layered the meat and cheese on top again. )
  • Place the other pizza crust corn meal side up on top.
  • Press all the edges together to seal it up.
  • Spray with cooking spray and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and Italian seasonings.
  • Bake at 375 for 30 minutes or until done.

1 Comment »

  1. mydearbakes Said:

    You make very gorgeous bakes, it is amazing! =)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

