Bacon Cheddar Scones (gluten-free & dairy-free)

I hope everyone had a wonderful Father’s Day yesterday. I know WE started out the day right with these amazing bacon cheddar scones! I don’t know if it’s a guy thing… but all the men I know seem to LOVE bacon, so I figured ya can’t go wrong with bacon! Add some cheddar cheese and put it in a handy grab & go form (scones) and what’s not to love! These were certainly a hit with hubby! (even though he’s not a daddy yet… I still like to spoil him!) I didn’t get to the rest of my Father’s Day feast (my own dad couldn’t do anything until tonight) so I’ll have some other great “man” recipes soon!

Kitchen update:  Spent the weekend listening to the wonderful sounds of a tile saw! (sarcasm here!) Guess thats what i get for wanting diagonal 18 inch tile! LOL. Maybe tonight the epoxy will go in and I’ll have a FINISHED floor! Woop woop! 🙂

I’m also hoping today is a gonna be a breakthrough day for me! For those of you who know me well, you know that I’ve been struggling to find the answer to whats “wrong with me” (haha, probably a lot of things right!?) For the last 10 years I’ve been to dr after dr, test after test, with little change in how I feel. The only thing that has even remotely helped is finding out I had food allergies/intolerances. Which is what led me down the path to blogging in the first place! I’ve tried seemingly everything including acupuncture (which seems to help some!) and naturopathy. I’ve tried “medicine”….why don’t drs realize that pills really don’t help! LOL  Anyhow, a friend referred me to cranial-sacral therapy and after a month of waiting…..today is finally the day!! So wish me luck….keep those fingers crossed! This is my last resort and I’m hoping for an answer, a cure, anything but a temporary “fix.” And you’ll know if it worked or not…..because if I post something chocolate tomorrow…. I’ll be celebrating!! Chocolate is  my one vice! 😉

Anyways….. back to the recipe! Here it is….give it a try and enjoy! 🙂

Bacon Cheddar Scones (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups gluten free flour

¾ tsp xanthan gum

1/2 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Dash ground black pepper

¼ c cold non-dairy butter

3/4 cup grated (soy) cheddar cheese

2-3 chives, chopped or 1/2 Tbsp dried chives

1/2 cup cooked crumbled bacon

3/4 cup almond milk

1 large egg for the egg wash

 

Directions:

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry blender. Stir in the cheese, chives and bacon. Add the milk and stir until dough forms a ball.   Transfer the dough to a parchment paper lined baking sheet and pat into a 6-inch disk.  Slice the dough into 6 wedges.  Brush with the egg wash. Bake at 400 F for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Boomdeeadda Said:

    yummy, I’ve not heard of Xanthan Gum before. Is that because of the type of flour? Hope your kitchen comes together.

    • NutMeg Said:

      Thank you, it’s gettin there! If you don’t have to be gluten free you can substitute the GF flour for regular flour and omit the xanthan gum. Xanthan gum takes the places of gluten in regular wheat flour, so you wouldn’t need it unless you go gluten free. Its what holds it all together! BTW, all of my recipes can be turned “regular” by simply using wheat or milk products instead of the gluten free and dairy free! Hope you’ll enjoy these, thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

