Baked Almond Chicken Tenders (Gluten-free & Dairy-free)

Between my cooking withdrawals and hubby taking out his back, this weekend was a great cooking catchup weekend for me!! SCORE!! NOT that I’m happy about his back…..it just meant the kitchen renovation progress went a little slower (he’s such a trooper!) and I was able to work amidst the mess! (Which I cleaned all day Saturday, my house was looking beautiful!! and when I woke up Sunday morning….it was all covered in sheetrock dust again! There’s no winning this one! LOL) Which is a good thing because starting tonight the floor goes in which means the oven goes bye-bye for a few days, thus…..no cooking. Considering how stuffed my fridge is though (I really did cook a lot this weekend!! Making up for lost time I guess!) I think we’ll have plenty to eat for a few days! So…..do you know what that means?! It means I’ve got quite a few posts coming up with some amazing new recipes to share!! This is one of them……and not only was it delicious, I kinda like having to use paper and plastic! NO clean up!! And I hope you all realize that cooking without a kitchen is really pretty hard. My dining room table, the laundry room sink, and the boxes of kitchen stuff stacked in my guestroom and basement have been my main go-tos! LOL Lots of running around (getting my workout is a bonus too!)… but it was all worth it in the end! Somewhere in this hectic weekend I managed to get my veggie garden planted too so I’m very excited about that and being able to use my own fruit and veggies soon!! That said…I’ll get to the recipe now! (are you guys like geeeez get to it already! LOL) It’s a wonderful, crunchy on the outside, tender on in the inside  full of almond flavor chicken. Not only is it baked instead of fried, its also gluten free and dairy free! (and egg free as long as the bread crumbs are too!) It was super easy to make (like i said I’m sticking with paper bowls every time! no clean up, no bleach, etc!!) Start to finish, it takes 30 minutes or less! Now THAT is pretty darn good for chicken this tasty! I served this up with a side of my yummy rice pilaf and mixed green salad and of course for dessert….oh wait, I guess you’ll have to wait for my next post for that one!! And trust me…..its amazing!!! Stay tuned…..and enjoy! 🙂

BAKED ALMOND CHICKEN TENDERS (Printable Version)

 INGREDIENTS:

1 lb chicken tenders
Cooking spray

1/4 cup GF flour
Pinch salt

1/4 cup almond milk
pinch salt

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 cup GF Panko bread crumbs

1/2 cup chopped/sliced almonds
1/2 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Spray aluminum foil lined baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray

Bowl 1- add flour and spices. Mix.

Bowl 2-Add milk, extract and salt. Mix.

Bowl 3- Add panko, almonds and salt. Mix.

Place chicken in flour, shake off excess flour.

Dip chicken in milk. Drip off excess.

Roll chicken in almond panko mixture. Press mixture lightly into chicken.

Place breaded chicken tenders prepared baking sheet.

Lightly spray chicken with baking spray.

Bake chicken for 20+ minutes depending on thickness of the tenders until temperature reaches 180 F or higher.

Leave a Comment

