Almond Joy Oatmeal (Gluten-free & Dairy-free)

So apparently I have to resort to making oatmeal in the microwave to get my cooking fix……..which this hardly qualifies, but it will have to do. All of my dishes are in boxes and my house is a huge mess under construction……and my pantry is in boxes too! I wanted to try something a little different for breakfast this morning though…and I LOVE almond joy anything so I figured why not try it with oatmeal! Its easy and quick to make…..although cooking in a paper bowl kinda threw me off! Took me 2 takes but finally got it!  Its super yummy! I added sugar to mine cause i have such a sweet tooth! Don’t think my stomach liked the almonds though….Im a week off on my acupuncture so I’ve been a little off this week! Hopefully I’ll get that and my kitchen back in order and be cooking again soon! In the meantime, I’ll have to let finding new recipes be enough! The drywall will be up tonight in the kitchen, and the floor goes in this weekend! Hopefully I’ll have cabinets up next week……which means a working kitchen again soon!! So bear with me…..I’ll be back full-time soon enough!! Enjoy! 🙂

Almond Joy Oatmeal (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup quick oats

1 cup water or almond milk

shredded coconut

sliced almonds

dark chocolate chips

Pinch of salt

Sugar to taste

Directions:

Prepare the oats according to package. Once cooked, stir in the coconut, almonds, salt and sugar and top with chocolate chips.

4 Comments »

  1. I used to hate coconut, but have taken a sudden and random liking to it. I’ve been obsessed! I eat oatmeal every day, so I’ll have to try this!

    • NutMeg Said:

      Glad you like it! I love coconut too! Guess its just one of those foods you either love or hate! The only way I can get my husband to “like” it is if its toasted. He loves the granola I make, so if you like oats and coconut…you should check it out! Its sooo yummy on fruit or even just by itself! 🙂

  2. mydearbakes Said:

    Lovely recipe, thanks for sharing! =)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

