Strawberry-Rhubarb Coffee Cake (Gluten Free & Dairy Free!)

One of the things I made right before my kitchen was demolished was this amazingly scrumptious, fruit filled, crumb topped, melt in your mouth its so tender coffee cake! Ive been meaning to use up some of the fresh rhubarb I have (I used red, it tastes better to me than the green, but either works!) and what better pairing then strawberry-rhubarb!? This coffee cake makes a 9×13 inch pan…..which is a lot!! Normally I would just cut this in half and bake it in a 8×8 inch pan. But…..this was my plan, because i cut it up and froze it, and will have plenty to eat while my kitchen is out of order! LOL.  This is one of my favorite coffee cakes, my mom used to make it and it was the only way that I would eat rhubarb, plus i just love coffee cake! I’ll have some more recipes coming soon……wishing that i had my kitchen done already…I’m itching to cook! The drywall is going back up on the ceiling (thank goodness for a drywall lift or I’d be stuck helping!!) and then on the walls! Then the tile floor will be next! Can’t wait for the floor to be done cause as soon as its in I can get my stove back up and running!  I’m contemplating putting in a pot filler faucet over the stove….any words of advice on that?! Or any other kitchen must haves really!?  Anyhow……give this one a try! Oh, you can also use frozen fruit in this if you don’t have fresh…but now’s the season for fresh and it tastes much better!! Enjoy! 🙂

Strawberry-Rhubarb Coffee Cake (Printable Version)

Filling Ingredients:

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup cornstarch

2 cups chopped fresh rhubarb

2 c sliced fresh strawberries

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Cake Ingredients:

3 cups gluten free flour

1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup cold non dairy butter

2 eggs

1 cup almond milk + 1/2 tsp lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Topping Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup gluten free  flour

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

1/4 cup cold non dairy butter

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine sugar and cornstarch; stir in rhubarb and strawberries. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat; stir in lemon juice. Cool.

In a large bowl, combine flour, gum, sugar, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. In another bowl, beat the eggs,  almond milk and vanilla; stir in crumb mixture just until moistened. Spoon two-thirds of the batter into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish. Spoon cooled filling over batter. Top with fruit mixture and remaining batter.

For topping, combine sugar, flour and gum in a small bowl; cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle over batter.

Bake at 365° for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean and cake is golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

3 Comments »

  1. amberwideman Said:

    Mmm…this sounds so delicious! I’ve never considered a strawberry-rhubarb coffee cake but I would be willing to try! It sounds so good.

    • NutMeg Said:

      Thanks! I was skeptical at first too! But once you go strawberry-rhubarb… you’re hooked! Its a great combo and who doesn’t love coffee cake right?! Hope you like it! 🙂

  2. Anna Said:

    Yum!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

