Blackberry Scones (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Ok, so as promised (for once LOL)….here are my magnificent blackberry scones! These are melt in your mouth delicious, moist, flaky and tender. They have the perfect balance of sweet and tangy with the blackberries (if they were local and in season they’d be better, but you get what you get when you buy out of season at the store right!?) and just a hint of cinnamon. There’s just something about fruit and cinnamon that makes a tasty combination of flavors! These are not drop scones as the last ones were, but they’re still simple to make. I cut this down to make just 4, because scones really are best right out of the oven. If you do have leftovers, be sure to heat them up just a touch in the microwave so they’re nice and tender again! I’m still craving scones (I must be hooked!), so more to come. Enjoy! 🙂

Blackberry Scones (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1 cup gluten free flour

1/2 tsp xanthan gum
3 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 1/2 Tbsp non dairy butter
1/3 cup almond milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup blackberries, fresh or frozen
sugar & cinnamon for topping

Directions:

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Cut in butter. Stir in blackberries. Stir in milk & vanilla until just combined. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and flatten dough to 3/4 inch thick circle.  Cut into 4 triangles. Place scones on parchment paper lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with toppings. Bake at 400 F for 20 minutes.

4 Comments »

  1. mydearbakes Said:

    Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

  2. I am loving this recipe, I cannot eat Gluten and I find it so hard to find great alternatives but whenever I do find a great recipe like this I add it to my list! I will be bookmarking your blog from now on, a great find for me 🙂

    • NutMeg Said:

      Thank you! I’m so happy to hear that my blog is helping you! I’ve been there… good gf recipes are hard to find! I hope you’ll find more of mine helpful too! (If it’s easier for you, you can “follow” the blog by email so you don’t have to keep coming back looking for new recipes! It’ll just email you when posts are made!)

  3. PushDumpFatButton Said:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

