Chocolate Zucchini Cake (Gluten & Dairy Free)

You can’t go wrong with chocolate zucchini cake! This moist, chocolatey cake is chock full of zucchini flavor! With a nice crunchy walnut topping and gooey bits of chocolate chips, every bite is melt in your mouth delicious! By replacing the oil with applesauce, you not only cut way down on the fat content, but you ensure a nice moist texture. Fair warning: this cake is addicting! I like to make cupcakes out of it, that way it’s already portion controlled for me! Then I’ll freeze most of them, so when i need a snack or am craving a chocolate dessert, I’ll just grab one of these outta the freezer and get my fix quick!! I’ve gotta credit my mom for the original recipe, I’ve since modified it, but growing up this was always one of my favorites, so thank you mom!! (Which is why I made this for mother’s day yesterday!) Hopefully with zucchini squash about to be overwhelming in produce (if you grow you own garden) this is a surefire way you’ll want to use them up!! On a side note, since I had the zucchini shredded already, I made my scrumptious Zucchini Cheese Casserole, but put it in 6 mini tart pans and baked for 30 minutes! Perfection! There’s just something about mini tart pans that makes everything taste better, maybe it’s cause they look just so darn cute!) Enjoy! 🙂

Chocolate Zucchini Cake (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1/4 c softened non-dairy margarine

1/4 c applesauce

3/4 c + 2 Tbsp sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 c almond milk

1 1/4 c gluten free flour

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

2 Tbsp cocoa

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

1 cup unpeeled, shredded zucchini

 

Topping:

1/4 c Ghiradelli chocolate chips

1/4 c chopped walnuts

1/4 c sugar

 

Directions:

Cream together the margarine, applesauce and sugar. Add egg, vanilla and milk and beat well. Add dry ingredients and zucchini. Put into greased 8×8 glass pan (or 12 greased muffin cups) and sprinkle with topping. Bake at 325 for 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

 

Leave a Comment

