Baked Mac & Cheese Cups

Who doesn’t love macaroni and cheese right?! That’s one of the big things I missed going dairy free….. I do splurge once in awhile and have a little tiny bit of cheese in something…..so I’m using this recipe for my splurge this time! LOL! I tried this once before, and used quinoa macaroni…..yugh! Not a fan of quinoa. I also had a blonde moment apparently, because I made my sauce with sweetened, vanilla flavored almond milk……thats what i had…..didn’t even think about it. So….my sauce was a little, uhm, off to say the least. I had my husband taste it not knowing what it was…he asked me if it was butterscotch?! Hahahaha! Oops! So the second time around I got plain, unflavored, unsweetened milk, and got brown rice pasta…..much much better!! They turned out perfect and didn’t even stick to the pan at all either!! So next time you’re having a mac & cheese craving give these a try! The bake up nicely, with a crunchy crust! They are gluten free and almost dairy free, you could use soy cheese to make it completely dairy free! YUM!! Can’t wait to make em again! LOL Enjoy! 🙂

Baked  Mac & Cheese Cups (Printable Version)

1 Tbsp non-dairy butter

1 Tbsp gluten free flour

1/2 cup unsweetened, unflav almond milk

1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 cup gluten free brown rice macaroni

dash ground black pepper

1/2 tsp salt

3 Tbsp gluten free bread crumbs

Heat oven to 350 F.

Cook the macaroni following the directions on the package.

While the pasta is cooking, melt the butter over medium low heat in a small sauce pan. Add flour and whisk to combine into a thick paste. Cook, stirring, until roux is cooked, but not brown. Add the milk and whisk. Continue to stir until sauce is bubbly and thick. Stir in most of the cheese. Add the salt and pepper. Fold the macaroni into the cheese sauce. Spoon the mac and cheese into a 6-cup greased muffin pan, pushing the mac and cheese firmly into each cup. Top with the remaining cheese and the bread crumbs. Bake for 35 minutes or until the tops are lightly browned.  Let them cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Using a butter knife, run it around the edges of the muffins to loosen before removing from pan.

2 Comments »

  1. I love the idea of baking it in a muffin pan!

    • NutMeg Said:

      It gives it a nice crunchy edge…and its not the same boring mac & cheese! I bet they’d be cute as mini’s too! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

