Deluxe Carrot Cake Bites (Gluten &Dairy Free)

I love, love, LOVE carrot cake…..well, ok…….I love my mom’s recipe for carrot cake, although I’ve changed it to be gluten and dairy free, and a little healthier too! Its not your typical dry and boring carrot cake. This is moist and flavorful and chock full of healthy goodness! I wasn’t sure if i would like it without my favorite cream cheese frosting, but I used the plain white betty crocker frosting and it was just as good!! I also decided to make these in bite-size instead of a whole cake…this way they cook faster (and since I’d been craving them all day I wanted one as soon as possible!!) and they are a little more portion controlled. Not that this helped…… I probably ate MORE!! They are certainly addictive!! Even hubby liked them (I made half without raisins just for him, and without those and the cream cheese, 2 things that turned him off of carrot cake before, he actually liked these!!) I need to kick my sugar addiction again….. i was doing so well for awhile there!! So….. gonna stick with making posting  non-dessert items for awhile! Haha…..i know, yeah right, right?! You know me well! Enjoy! 🙂

Deluxe Carrot Cake Bites (Printable Version)

Cream together:

1 c sugar

½  c applesauce

2 eggs

Sift together & add to creamed ingredients:

1 c gluten free flour

½ tsp xanthan gum

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Add and fold in:

1 c crushed drained pineapple

1 c shredded carrots

1/4 c diced walnuts

1/4 c coconut

¼ c raisins

Bake in greased 24-cup mini-muffin pan for 20-25  min at 350 F,  or until a toothpick inserted into center of muffin comes out clean. Let sit in pan 10 minutes, then remove to cooling rack. Once cooled, frost with GF white frosting (Betty Crocker) and refrigerate.

Makes 24 mini-cupcakes

Leave a Comment

