Baked Cinnamon Roll Donuts (Gluten & Dairy Free)

So yesterday was my husbands and my 6th wedding anniversary, and I wanted to make something REALLY good for breakfast. We’re both a sucker for cinnamon roll anything…..and I ‘ve already made cinnamon roll muffins, coffee cake, pancakes, etc. So…. hmm…what else is there?! Ah-ha! Cinnamon roll Donuts!! I have yet to  use my handy donut baking pan since going dairy free. Why not give these a shot. I’ve got the batter all mixed up and ready to go (which comes together in a snap!!) and guess what?!? I can not find that darn pan ANYWHERE!! LOL. So I start digging….and after finding all sorts of amazing, yet seemingly unusable to me because my food restrictions will make using these unrealistic, baking tools I cleaned out and re-organized my cupboards! And……still no donut pan! So…..the search continued…its amazing where things will hide! At least i found it…..got those donuts in the oven and 15 minutes later….we were immensely enjoying them!! OMG! SOOO freakin’ good! Another successful cinnamon roll recipe added to the arsenal! Enjoy! 🙂

Baked Cinnamon Roll Donuts (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1 c gluten free flour

½ tsp xanthan gum

¼ cup sugar

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

6 tbsp almond milk + ½ tsp lemon juice

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp non-dairy butter, melted

Glaze:

1/2 c powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1-2+ tsp water

Directions:

Mix the almond milk and lemon juice, let sit at least 5 minutes. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, gum, sugars, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add the milk, egg, vanilla and melted butter.  Stir to combine. Spoon the batter into a Ziploc bag. Cut off a corner and pipe the batter into a greased 6-donut pan. Bake 12-14 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 5 minutes.

Combine powdered sugar, vanilla and water.  Stir to combine, add water or more sugar until desired consistency is achieved. Drizzle glaze over donuts.

Leave a Comment

