Gone Bananas

Have a mentioned before how much I love breakfast food?!? The possibilities for breakfast are seemingly endless….but this morning I thought why not fall back on a classic staple….bananas!! If you’re like me, you’ll buy a ton of bananas, and then a week later wonder how a bunch of spotty black bananas ended up on your counter?! LOL. I really do have the best of intentions on actually eating them when i buy them, trying to be healthy and all (and my husband is sick to death of them too!) but I’m very particular about the ripeness of bananas, and I’ve pretty much stopped eating them because for some odd reason, I get the worst indigestion after eating bananas!! Does anyone else get this or is it just me and my weird body?!? Trust me…..its not fun having banana burps all morning! haha! Maybe its because I like them a little green still…..I’ll have to give it a try with riper bananas, I don’t have a problem when they are completely over-ripe and baked in something! Which is handy cause bananas are better that way anyhow!! So typing out the word banana is really getting to me here, so I’m gonna just get on with it and give you some amazing banana breakfast recipes!! I do have to give credit to my mamma for the coffee cake recipe, although I had to tweak it to make it gluten and dairy free! The other is banana blackberry muffins! YUM! I can’t wait for blackberry season! In fact I can’t wait for spring and summer and having a huge vegetable garden…in fact I’m going to start planning it today! It will be time to plant in no time!! Bring on the spring!! So… next time you’ve got a banana craving, or you find yourself with that old black bunch of bananas…..give these a try!! Hope you enjoy! 🙂

Banana Coffee Cake (Gluten & Dairy Free)  (Printable Version)

½ c non-dairy butter

¾ c sugar

1 ¾ c gluten free flour

1 tsp xanthan gum

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp baking soda

2 eggs

2 ripe bananas, mashed

¼ c almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

Cream the butter and sugar. Stir in ¾ cup flour. Reserve ½ cup. Stir in remaining dry ingredients. Stir in the wet ingredients until just combined. Pour into a greased 9×9 inch pan. Sprinkle with the reserved topping. Bake at 375 F for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick in center comes out clean.

Blackberry Banana Muffins (Gluten & Dairy Free) (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

4 Tbsp non-dairy butter, melted

1/4 c. + 2 Tbsp light brown sugar

1 large egg, lightly beaten

½  tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 large ripe banana, mashed

½  c. fresh or frozen blackberries

1 c. GF flour  + ½ tsp X-gum

¾  tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and mashed banana. Add the melted butter to the brown sugar mixture and stir to combine.

In another large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Gently fold in the berries, making sure they are coated with flour.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir only until the ingredients are just combined. Do not overmix!

Spray a 6-cup muffin tin. Fill each muffin cup about two thirds full of batter. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Comment

