Dinner Italian-Style! (Gluten, Dairy & Yeast Free!)

Its official……its Lent, and that means 40 days of?!??! No red meat for me! It was actually kind of difficult to find something to give up considering I’ve already cut out so much from my diet! But to celebrate my mom’s birthday, I decided to cook up a feast… Italian style! Yup….spaghetti and meatballs, side salad and cheddar & herb biscuits. I’ve posted a recipe on here for regular beef meatballs…..but I’ve got to say…I don’t think I’m gonna go back to beef after tasting the turkey version!! SOOOO much better! And of course, me being a germ-a-phobe (not really but I like things clean!!) I’m paranoid of undercooked food and getting sick, so I tend to overcook everything!! Not to the point of burning or anything…. I just want to make sure its cooked! I’m sure this attributes to my dislike for red meat….most of its still mooing! And you overcook it and it just gets tough. Plus then I start thinking about the cow as an animal and not a slab of meat! LOL! I just can’t do that… all bloody and yugh!! Anyhow…. These meatballs were moist and tasty….even after being cooked an extra 20 degrees! I mixed up a nice big batch of gluten free pasta, add a jar of marinara sauce and there ya have it…..spaghetti & meatballs!! YUM!! But….that wasn’t enough! I miss bread!! I’ve got some good ones up my sleeve too…its not that being gluten and dairy intolerant means i can’t have bread……its just that you add in a yeast allergy and….. no bread! But these little gems are incredible!! So light and fluffy and full of flavor! Try eating just one!! Its SO not gonna happen! We ended the evening with my delectable fudgy ooey-gooey chocolate brownies! This was one amazing meal! I can’t wait to have leftovers for dinner tonight!! No one could even tell that it was gluten, dairy and yeast free!! The meatballs stay nice and moist when you reheat them…..they also freeze really well too! I’m sure these are going to become some staples in my house!! Super easy to make too! I made a nice big batch…thus saving myself from having to make lunches for hubby for at least a couple of days!! Hope you’ll give it a whirl! Enjoy! 🙂

30-Minute Baked Turkey Meatball (Printable Version

1 package (1.25 lb lean Jennie-o ground turkey)

1 egg

2/3 c gluten free bread crumbs (Ener-G GF bread crumbs)

1/4 of an onion, minced

Dash each of: garlic powder, basil, oregano, parsley, salt & pepper

In a large bowl or kitchen-aid mixer, combine all ingredients. Roll into balls or use a cookie scoop and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through.

Cheddar & Herb Biscuit  (Printable Version)

Biscuits:
1 cup gluten free flour

½ teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon shortening
1 1/2 tablespoons cold non-dairy butter
1/2 cup almond milk + 1/2 tsp lemon juice
1/3  cup grated sharp cheddar cheese (soy)

Buttery Topping:
1 1/2 tablespoons melted non-dairy butter
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, garlic powder and salt. Cut in shortening and butter until coarse crumbs are formed. Lightly mix in grated cheese. Mix in buttermilk just until moist. Using a cookie scoop, drop the biscuits onto a greased baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden. While the biscuits are baking, in a small bowl combine butter, parsley, garlic powder and salt. When the biscuits come out of the oven, brush the butter/herb mixture over the biscuits evenly. Serve immediately.

Leave a Comment

