Perfect Pancakes (& Waffles) ~ Gluten & Dairy Free!

It may have taken me awhile……but I have finally perfected my buttermilk pancakes! They are both gluten and dairy free…but they are so light and fluffy and scrumptious…..just like I remember them before I had to alter them! Trust me…I have tried everything; eggs, no eggs, no xanthan gum, with xanthan gum, adding applesauce, less milk, different “buttermilk” alterations, you name it. But….I have found out the secret to perfecting not only pancakes, but waffles too! And I stumbled upon this by mistake, as I was cooking too early in the morning and was apparently still half asleep! It ending up being the best mistake I ever made! That’s how good these are! So I guess I will let my loyal readers in on this amazing secret…. beaten egg whites. If it calls for one beaten egg white…..I used two…..if it didn’t call for the egg beaten…….I beat it anyways……and you know what?! PERFECT batter! Even the leftovers, which are usually soggy or dry and gross, are delicious and still fluffy! I am honestly amazed! So I will re-post the altered versions now of these breakfast favorites…I hope you’ll give them a try! Enjoy! 🙂

Perfect Pancakes ~ Gluten & Dairy Free (Printable Version)

1 c gluten free flour + ¼ tsp xanthan gum

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 c “buttermilk”

2  Tbsp oil

1 egg, separated

Make your buttermilk by mixing almond milk with 1 Tbsp of lemon juice to equal 1 cup. Let sit for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, beat the egg white until stiff, set aside. Combine dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl with wire whisk. Whisk the oil and egg yolk into the buttermilk and then whisk  into the dry ingredients until  moistened. Using a spatula, fold in the egg whites. (You can add any additives like blueberries or chocolate chips now too if desired!) Heat a nonstick griddle to 325-350. Pour batter on griddle to desired size and flip when bubbles form.

Gluten & Dairy Free Belgian Waffles (Printable Version)

3/4 c + 2 Tbsp GF flour + 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1/2 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 eggs, separated

3/4 c almond milk

3 1/2 Tbsp oil

Blueberries (opt)

Beat the egg whites until stiff. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Combine egg yolks, milk and oil and add to dry ingredients, stirring until just moistened. Fold in egg whites (and blueberries if desired). Add half the batter to a hot greased (sprayed with Pam or Crisco spray) Belgian waffle iron. The light on the waffle iron turns off on mine when its done, or just cook until they are lightly browned. Makes 2.

Leave a Comment

