Family Heritage Breakfast

These delectably light and fluffy pancake balls are a long time family tradition! This is one of my grandmothers family’s recipes, and she always used to make these for my sisters and I when we were kids. It was our special treat! Following suit, my parents inherited an Aebelskiver pan, and so we got to have these even more often then just when visiting grandma! Since then, I was able to hunt one down and make these myself, but I have to admit it has been a long while since I’ve made these….I really was quite positive that if I made these gluten and dairy free, the wouldn’t work! I always had a difficult enough time making the regular ones! So I took that much cherished family recipe that’s been handed down from generation to generation, and I changed it!! Yup…. took the chance and you know what?!? They were amazing! Even better and EASIER to make then the original ones!! I couldn’t believe it! With that bit of knowledge in my mind now, I have a sneaking suspicion that these little bad boys will be showing up on the table more often! I cut the original recipe in half…this one makes about 16….it depends on how full you fill them…but they do puff up so be careful!! These are much more fun to eat then just regular flat pancakes…. you just pull them apart and stuff them full of jam or applesauce or syrup and a covered with a sprinkling of powdered sugar…..these are sure to disappear off the plate faster then you can cook them! LOL! If you don’t have an Aebelskiver pan, you can order one online or you might try the camping section of a outdoors store….just make sure it is cast iron!! You’ll need to “season” the pan before you use it though….. you can google that for directions if you’re unfamiliar! So even if you don’t have danish blood in you…..these are a welcome treat for breakfast anytime! Hope you’ll give them a try! Enjoy! 🙂

Aebleskivers (Danish Pancake Balls) (Printable Version)

2 eggs

1/2 Tbsp sugar

1 c flour + ½ tsp xanthan gun

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 c almond milk + lemon juice

1/2 c finely diced raw apple

Mix almond milk and 1 Tbsp lemon juice, let sit 10 minutes. Meanwhile, separate the eggs and beat the egg whites until stiff. Then beat the yolks & sugar well. Sift the dry ingredients & add to mixture, then add buttermilk & beat until batter is smooth. Fold in beaten egg whites & apple with a spatula. Heat aebleskiver pan over medium heat & put ¼ tsp oil in each hole. Using a paper towel, spread the oil evenly up the sides of each hole, and around the top of the pan. Be careful, the oil and pan will be hot! Fill holes almost completely with batter. Let bake a few minutes & turn them over with a toothpick. Fry until golden brown, making sure they are cooked all the way through. Serve hot with powdered sugar, jam, syrup or applesauce.

Makes about 16

Leave a Comment

