Fast Food Makeover!

I admit…..I miss fast food! Its hard to see and smell the delicious scent of hot cheesy pizza or Subway’s toasted sandwiches or greasy french fries and nuggets wafting in the air! Then I remember what it was like to feel AFTER eating that stuff……and I realize its SO not worth it! When you think about all the artificial “fillers” they put in that stuff…..yugh! I may miss it, but my body sure doesn’t! I stumbled across a McDonald’s McNugget copy-cat recipe, minus the fillers of course, so I thought I’d de-glutinize it and give it a try! WOW! Can you say good?!? I love cornbread and honey….and I like to dip my nuggets in honey (what choice do I have when I can’t have dairy, so ranch is out, and no tomatoes so ketchup is out!) So honey it is….I’ve made some good cornmeal chicken nuggets (not sure if Ive shared that yet or not) but these are just like the ones you buy at a fast food place, minus the oil, or from the freezer section. And do you know what the secret is to making them like they are?! They “mechanically separate” the meat…..in other-words mince it up really small…..and you can do that yourself with a food processor or blender. Which is just what I did! It was a little weird to do….but when you bite into that first crispy yet tender nugget, you understand why this is the step you don’t want to skip! you can vary this by using different spices and herbs inside the meat and/or the coating. For the coating you can use breadcrumbs, cornmeal, or even just flour. You can bake them (healthier version which I prefer to do) or you can fry them……and get an even more legit “fast food”ish product. I hope if you try these you are as impressed as we were! And now I don’t have to miss out on fast food! I can make my own nuggets and my own fries. I’ll post that recipe soon! But for now…..enjoy! 🙂

Restaurant-Style Chicken Nuggets (Printable Version)

INGREDIENTS:

2 chicken breasts

½ cup ready-made GF breadcrumbs

1-2 eggs, beaten

1 tsp basil, parsley or both (opt)

½ cup GF flour with salt & ground black pepper

½ cup corn meal

Vegetable oil (for fying)

Non-stick cooking spray (for baking)

PREP DIRECTIONS:

Cut the chicken into small chunks so they will fit into the blender.

Put the chicken breasts into a food processer and pulse the chicken until roughly chopped. Now add the herbs and switch on the blender again, making sure the herbs are blended well with the chicken. Once that is done, pour the mixture into one of the bowls.

Take the eggs, crack them into a bowl and beat them.

Line up the chicken mix, the flour, the eggs, the breadcrumbs and the cornmeal in the 5 bowls.

Rub your hands with some flour to avoid them becoming too sticky or just wear disposable gloves! Then take some chicken mixture and roll it in the palm of your hands to create a smooth ball shape about the size of a ping pong ball.

Now take the nugget and roll it in the flour. When totally covered, roll it in the egg. Next, roll the nugget in the breadcrumbs OR corn meal. Gently press down on it to form the perfect nugget shape.

BAKING DIRECTIONS:

Lightly grease a nonstick baking sheet with olive oil spray. Place chicken on it. Bake in a preheated 425° oven for 6-8 minutes (or until the breading is crisp), then flip the chicken and bake for another 4-6 minutes or until reaches 180 degrees F.

FRYING DIRECTIONS:

Take your frying pan and put the vegetable oil into it. Heat the pan to medium so that the oil is hot but not smoking. Place the nuggets into the pan and cook gently on a low heat for about 5 minutes turning them every few minutes so they don’t burn. Once cooked place the nuggets on kitchen paper to drain any excess oil.

Leave a Comment

