Souper Good!

Yes its been awhile since I’ve posted! With the holidays and all the extra stuff going on, I’m lucky if I even get a decent meal on the table! I also recently found out that I have even more food restrictions then I thought. So… for a few months at least my recipes will be not only gluten free, but dairy free and egg free!  I’m trying to make them soy free, yeast free, and peanut free too, but that will be harder to do as soy and milk are in everything! I’m still learning the “code” names for yeast and casein and whey and soy… so I can’t guarantee that these are 100% everything free! But at least its a start and a far cry from where I was a few weeks ago! I’m hoping eventually I’ll be able to do SOME cheese and eggs again! Maybe even some peanut butter! We’ll see how the allergy testing and reactions go in a few months! This is going to be a long process! I’m also having to cut out sugar, as that feeds yeast…..and its extremely hard!! Not to mention withdrawals symptoms suck!! LOL! Anyways, luckily for me, its winter and nothing tastes better when its cold and snowy out then a nice hot soup or casserole! I’m quickly learning to be a meat & potatoes kinda girl! Meat, potatoes, rice and GF pasta, with a few cooked veggies in there and viola! Easy enough diet to follow right?!? Hmm…well moving on! Here are a couple yummy soups that really hit the spot and yes….they are GF and DF!! Yay! I’m also going to turn my last soup post recipe (Autumn Chowder) into a dairy free version by using rice milk and omitting the cheese. We’ll see how that turns out! Here’s hoping its just as delicious as the dairy filled version!So lets get started….I’ve got an amazing and flavorful hamburger minestrone. I left out the tomatoes as those are on the hit-list too! But feel free to throw them in yours! I’ve also got a wonderful Chicken & Rice Soup that you could easily turn into a chicken noodle by substituting the rice for cooked GF pasta and adding in some frozen peas! YUM! I’m ready for some soup!! These nice soup staples as well as the potato corn chowder will make for some tasty lunches! The great thing is it makes a ton so it will last you for a while! If you can have yeast, some nice GF garlic toast would go great! I’m looking at this new diet as a challenge to find and make new delicious meals! I’ll be posting some new dinner recipes soon! I can’t wait to try out all these new recipes….enjoy! 🙂

Hamburger Minestrone Soup (Printable Version)

Ingredients

1 cup uncooked GF rotini pasta

1 pound (extra) lean ground beef

1/2 cup chopped onion

6 cups beef broth

1 package (16 ounces) frozen mixed vegetables

1 can (16 ounces) kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 can diced tomatoes (optional)

3 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon dried basil

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, cook beef and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Stir in the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 15 minutes. Drain pasta and add to the pan.  Cook 5 minutes longer or until heated through.

Yield: 6 servings

Chicken and Rice Soup (Printable Version)

2 cups chicken broth

4 cups water

1T chicken bouillon

1-2 cups chopped,  cooked chicken breasts

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 carrots, diced

1-2 celery stalks, diced

½ tsp dried crushed bay leaf

½ tsp garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups cooked white rice

Olive oil

Heat olive oil in big stock pot over medium heat. Add onion and sauté for a minute or two. Add carrot and celery and continue to sauté until they start to soften a bit, maybe 3-4 minutes.

Add chicken broth, water, and bouillon. Stir to mix, and add chicken and bay leaf and garlic.

Let simmer for about an hour. If the liquid level reduces too low, you can always add more water and more bouillon if necessary. Add salt and pepper to taste.

15 minutes before serving,  add rice and heat through.

Adapted From: 30-Minute Martha

Leave a Comment

