Cranberrylicious

So after making my zucchini casserole the other night I realize that I still had some grated zucchini in the fridge. This fog and chilly weather has made me crave some nice fall flavored muffins… so having a little extra time this morning I decided to surprise my hubby with some fresh baked muffins for breakfast. I cut this recipe in half to make just 6, we don’t need a dozen muffins hanging around the house for a week. Gluten free baked goods start to get a grainy texture after a couple days, so the key is to make less or eat more……with holiday season coming up and all the things I want to try, I’m going to go with the make less! I still usually end up casting off my extras though! Of course this morning when my husband realized what kind of muffins they were, the first thing out of his mouth was something along the lines of, “What?! I’ve got to eat vegetables for BREAKFAST now?!?” Haha….after tasting them though, he was thinking differently! Baked goods are a great way to sneak in those fruits and vegetables and oats too! As long as it tastes good, who cares whats in it right?! So I hope you will like these….they are nice and moist. You can also substitute half of the zucchini for grated carrot to try something a little different. Oh, and make sure you chop the cranberries or they’ll burst open! ūüôā

Gluten Free Cranberry Zucchini Muffins (Printable Version)

1 cup gluten free flour + ¬Ĺ tsp xanthan gum
heaping 1/4 tsp salt
¬Ĺ ¬†tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup sugar (plus a little to sprinkle)
1/4 cup oil¬† & ¬ľ c applesauce
1 large egg
3/4 cup grated unpreeled zucchini
3/4 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup halved fresh or frozen cranberries

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a 6-cup muffin tin and set aside.
2.  Combine the flour through baking soda and set aside.
3.  In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar through vanilla.  Add the dry ingredients and stir in until mixed.  Fold in cranberries.
4.  Divide the batter evenly among  muffin cups & sprinkle with sugar.                                                                                                        5.  Bake until muffins are golden brown, and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes.
6.  Transfer pan to a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes.  Remove to wire rack to cool completely.

I’m also going to share my absolute fall-time favorite muffin recipe: Cranberry Orange Muffins. They are to die for! I love the combination of cranberries and orange, and with a cinnamon-sugar topping….mmmmmmmm! My mom used to make these alot when I was a kid, and they definitely stuck with me! The gluten free version only makes 10, but using regular wheat flour makes 12… the gluten free ones are still nice and moist and fluffy! Just how I remember them! You really can’t tell the difference… and they are well worth making! Bett er run out to the store and stock up on cranberries! I happened upon some in the store the other day and just had to buy some! You can use frozen cranberries for any recipe that calls for cranberries, you don’t even have to thaw them! Just be careful when you cut them! Don’t want to chop off any fingers! I’ve got more amazing cranberry recipes coming… with Thanksgiving just around the corner! But for now… give these a try! Hope you like em!

Cranberry Orange Muffins (Printable Version)

1 c cranberries, halved/quartered + 2 Tbsp sugar

1/3 c sugar

1 ¬ĺ c GF flour + 1 tsp xanthan gum

2 ¬Ĺ tsp baking powder

¬ľ tsp salt

1 egg

¬ĺ c milk

1/3 c oil

¬Ĺ tsp orange peel

Chop the cranberries, add sugar and set aside. In a large bowl combine the sugar, flour, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the dry ingredients and mix in the milk, oil and egg. Add the berries and orange peel. Put evenly into 10-12 greased muffin cups and sprinkle with sugar-cinnamon topping. Bake at 375 for 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let sit for a few minutes, then remove to cooling rack.

Leave a Comment

