Appetizer Pleasers!

I found 2 seriously yummy looking “appetizer” recipes that I just HAD to try! I use the work appetizer loosely because this ended up as dinner, lunch and snacks! They’re so good, and simple to make that you can enjoy them anytime! The first one is Apple Pie Chex Mix. I love that Chex is gluten free. I’ve never really liked cereal in your typical cereal and milk for breakfast way. Id rather eat it dry in a snack mix. Trust me, I’ve got many different snack mix recipes, which as I make, I’ll share, but since its fall, this one sounded perfect! We just hit freezing temperatures and although I’d rather bake an apple pie, this was much faster to make and just as tasty! The other recipe is for Sausage & Cheese Balls. (I know it sounds…funny!) but these are omg sooooo good! There are lots of recipes out there for this recipe and they all call for different amounts of the same ingredients and bake times and temps, all resulting in different yet similar tasting balls. I took a couple different ones and substituted for gluten free and just kinda winged it. The end result was fantastic! Thank goodness I’ve got some amazing self control or I could get into some serious trouble with these little things hanging around! I also cut it down so it only makes 12, which is plenty for me…. but it can easily be doubled or tripled or whatever if you’re using them for entertaining. And trust me, they won’t last long if you do! So lets get started… Enjoy! 🙂

Apple Pie Chex Mix (Printable Version)

Ingredients

6 cups Cinnamon Chex cereal

1 cup walnut pieces

½ c coconut flakes

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup butter or margarine

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

10 oz dried apples, broken

½ c dried cranberries (optional)

2 squares white chocolate candi-quik

Directions

In large microwavable bowl, mix cereal, walnuts and coconut.

In 2-cup microwavable measuring cup, microwave brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg uncovered for about 1 1/2 minutes, stirring after 1 minute, until smooth and bubbly. Pour over cereal mixture; stir until evenly coated.  Microwave uncovered on High 4 minutes, stirring after each minute. Spread on waxed paper or foil to cool. Sprinkle apples (and cranberries) evenly over cereal mixture.

In small microwavable bowl, microwave candi-quik uncovered on High about 1 minute or until it can be stirred smooth. Drizzle over cereal mixture; let stand until set. Break into bite-size pieces. Store in airtight container.

Adapted From: Taste of Home

Gluten Free Sausage & Cheese Balls (Printable Version)

Ingredients:

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
½  lb. bulk sausage (any kind will do, but I used maple flavored)
2/3 c Gluten Free Bisquick
¼ cup milk

Mix everything together in a Kitchenaid mixer until thoroughly combined. Use a large cookie scoop and then roll into smooth balls. Place on a greased cookie sheet 1-2 inches apart. Should make 12 balls and fit on one cookie sheet. Bake for 18-20 minutes at 375 degrees F or until a meat thermometer reaches 170 or higher.

Yield: 12 balls

 

Leave a Comment

