Roast Chicken & Gluten-Free Stuffing

So I finally got around to making my roast chicken, which is the BEST roast chicken ever!  The trick to this unbelievably moist chicken is cooking it breast side down first, and at a very high temperature! The first time I made this I couldn’t believe how good it was….now its the only recipe I use! And since it was feeling very much like fall, and I’m anticipating the upcoming holiday season……I made gluten free stuffing! I’m not really a stuffing kind of person……but it just sounded good! I’m glad that it turned out as tasty as it sounded too! I like the idea of stuffin muffins…….so maybe next time I’ll have to try that. I’ll have to add an egg or 2 to hold it together, ball it up and stick it in a greased muffin pan! YUM. NOW I’m ready for the holidays! Now I’ve got leftovers galore….and wondering what in the world to do with them! Can’t go wrong with turkey and Swiss sandwiches though! I will say that the best gluten-free bread out there is Udi’s. I’ve tried all the other ones, and they are dense or super dry or really spongy. While pricey, its worth it if you can’t live without bread like me! I used this for my stuffing, but you could use any bread since you toast it. Although gluten free bread is much more dry than regular wheat breads, and it isn’t very good just eating it in a sandwich, it IS very good toasted or grilled. So get out your George Forman and add a little garlic butter to your bread…..I tell you its amazingly delicious ~ Panini style! Good luck and happy holidays!

Best Ever Roast Chicken (Printable Version)

1 – (4-lb) roasting chicken, giblets removed
1 Tbsp olive oil & 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning

Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 450°F.Put the chicken breast side up on a roasting rack in a 9×13-inch glass  baking dish or roasting pan. Tuck the wing tips behind the neck and loosely tie the legs together with a piece of kitchen twine. Spread the oil all over the chicken and rub in the poultry seasoning on both sides. Turn the chicken breast side down.Roast the chicken breast side down for 30 minutes. Turn it over by inserting sturdy tongs into the cavity and flipping it. Continue roasting until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thigh reads 165° to 170°F, an additional 30 to 35 minutes. Let it rest for 15 minutes before carving.

Adapted from: Fine Cooking

Gluten Free Stuffing (Printable Version)

1 large onion, chopped

6 celery ribs, chopped

1 can mushroom pieces, chopped

1/2 cup butter, cubed

3 garlic cloves, minced
4-1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
1 tablespoon rubbed sage
1-1/2 teaspoons poultry seasoning
1-1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper
Gluten-free bread, cubed & toasted (27 cups)

In a large skillet, saute onions, celery & mushrooms in butter until tender; add garlic, cook 1 minute longer. Transfer to a large bowl; add the broth, parsley, sage, poultry seasoning, salt and pepper. Gently stir in bread cubes until mixed. Spoon into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish (dish will be full). Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 30-35 minutes or until lightly browned and heated through.

Adapted from: Taste of Home

1 Comment »

  1. n00b Said:

    n00b reblogged this from Slapass Was Here.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

