Fall is in the Air!

The last few days have sure felt like fall around here! The leaves are starting to turn…..the temperature has dropped and it has finally rained! I’m ready for the hot dry summer to be over! I love Autumn! The fall air….the colors…the smells…..and most of all the baking! Apples and pumpkin and spices! Nothing beats a lazy fall afternoon with the scent of autumn baking in the air….. a fire crackling, snuggling on the couch in a cozy sweater with the rain beating down outside! I know I’m getting ahead of myself here….but this weekend sure got my hopes up! Minus the fire, I did get to do the rest….. I’m even anticipating the holiday season so much that I bought a chicken to roast, and I’m going to make home-made gluten free stuffing! That will be coming….as I haven’t got to it yet, hopefully dinner tonight! But I DID get to the dessert….the best part first right! This recipe does take some time to make but it is WELL worth the effort! I have many favorite fall recipes, and this one will be joining them! This is just a preview of the Autumn baking soon to come…..but, back to summer for now!

Praline Apple Cake (Printable Version)

8 oz light cream cheese, softened

2 c sugar, divided

4 eggs

1/2 cup oil

1/2 c applesauce

2 c gluten free flour + 1 tsp xanthan gum

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

2 med apples, peeled and chopped (2 c)

3 med carrots, peeled and shredded (1 1/2 c)

1/2 c diced pecans

Praline Icing:

1/2 c brown sugar

1/4 c butter

2 Tbsp milk

1/2 c powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 c diced pecans

Beat the cream cheese, 1/4 c sugar until smooth. Beat in 1 egg. Set aside.

In large mixing bowl, beat oil, applesauce with remaining sugar and eggs. Combine dry ingredients and add in. Stir in apples, carrots and pecans.

Transfer half of batter to greased bundt pan; add layer of cream cheese mixture, top with remaining batter.

Bake at 350 for 55-65 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes in pan, then remove to cooling rack.

In saucepan, bring brown sugar, butter and milk to a boil, stirring for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add powdered sugar and vanilla, beating until smooth. Drizzle over cake and top with pecans.

Store in fridge.

3 Comments »

  1. kaliesthoughts Said:

    sorry for the link thats my blog i meant would this recipe be healthy?

    • NutMeg Said:

      As much as I changed this recipe to be healthier, I wouldn’t say it is exactly “healthy!” You could substitute ALL the oil for applesauce and use less sugar and that would help……maybe not do the icing. Thanks for reading my blog! Hope this helps.

  2. Karen Said:

    Fall is definitely in the air here in New England. I just did a post about how our season is changing. I can tell we both love fall. I have 300 apple trees and am always looking for a good recipe. Your cake looks and sounds delicious.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Comment

