Chocoholics, Get Your Fix!

Step 1 is admitting that you have an addiction;  I admit that I am addicted to chocolate! But something tells me I’m not alone here! I’m going to share with you one of my absolute favorite recipes that will cure any chocolate craving with just one bite. (Not that you can control yourself and only eat one bite!) These were gone so fast this time that before I knew it, it was gone and I hadn’t taken a picture! So I’ve borrowed a fairly accurate photo from the web to show you the chocolate ecstasy that is just waiting for you to devour! This started out as a whole pan of dessert, but with just the 2 of us, I don’t really want this just hanging around waiting for me to inhale it!  It doesn’t take long to guiltily demolish the whole pan and show up on your hips! So I’ve turned this into either a 2 or 4 individual serving size dish that is gluten free. It makes (2) 7-oz custard cups or (2) 16-oz souffle cups ~ But I’ll leave that up to you on how guilty you want to feel when you’re done! 😉 I have to say though, that if any of this DOES make it to the fridge as leftovers, I’ve been known to eat it cold straight out of the fridge ~ YES its THAT GOOD!!! I’m going to go ahead and point the finger and blame my mother for this addiction as this was one of the more common desserts we had when I was a kid. Of course it stuck with me, and I’ve been spreading the addiction ever since I started making this simply delectable dessert on my own! This dessert is the best of both worlds too because you get a cakey brownie top with a hot fudge sauce underneath…add a little ice cream and you get an amazing hot fudge sundae! So….now that you’re probably salivating, waiting for the recipe……here it is! If you don’t want it gluten free, just use regular all-purpose flour.

Individual Gluten-Free Hot Fudge Pudding Cakes (Printable Version)

2/3 cup gluten-free flour

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup water

3 Tbsp melted butter

1 tsp pure vanilla

Mix in order until well blended. Pour into well greased custard/souffle cups.

In a small bowl combine:

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup cocoa

Dash of salt

Sprinkle this evenly over the custard cups. Then add 3 Tbsp to each cup. (If you make the larger 2, then add 6 Tbsp to each). Place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. (The bottom will be gooey still because that’s the hot fudge part, but you want the cake top to be cooked all the way through!)

Serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Another option to cut the chocolate craving is just plain, good ole chocolate cake. And not everything has to be made from scratch to be delicious! Again, with gluten free mixes, you have to be careful to get the right one, as they are definitely NOT all made the same! I’ve tried them all…..and they’ve been dry and crumbly to dense and dry, to moist but gritty. FINALLY I found one that is light and fluffy and tastes just like I remember cake is supposed to taste! And the best part is….its a mix. Just follow the directions and viola! Betty Crocker has gluten free frosting’s (its just the regular frosting, but if its gluten free it will say by the ingredients) So you can make a cake pretty quickly without and strange ingredients or procedures and the same great taste and texture. What is this wonderful product you ask?!? Its Bob’s Red Mill chocolate cake mix. (It comes in vanilla too!). And I don’t have a photo of the cake I just made because again, it was devoured before I remembered to take a photo. I usually just freeze one of the cakes it makes and we eat the other one, I don’t like the temptation of it sitting on my counter all week! I served this to a group of people who were all gluten eaters and they had NO idea the cake was gluten free! Yup…..its just that good! Its nice to know that us gluten-free-ers have the option for stuff like this too!

Leave a Comment

