Doughnuts? YES You Can!

One of the first things that people say when they hear I’m gluten free is…. “I couldn’t ever give up ________!” Most people say carbs or fast food. I thought that too…….but you know what?! I still CAN have all that stuff! Well…..not the fast food, but really…….who needs that junk anyways!? Doughnuts are one of the things that I’ve been missing lately because I love doughnuts! Well, kind of! LOL. Don’t get me wrong, but I’ve never been a real fan of that awful greasy tongue coating (you KNOW what I’m talking about!) or that gut wrenching indigestion for days after…….maybe that’s just my gluten intolerance talking here…..but doughnuts were actually one of the big hints/triggers that I was wheat and gluten intolerant! But no matter how bad I wanted to eat those things…..it wasn’t worth feeling like that. So I’ve found a healthier AND gluten free option to fulfill those doughnut cravings! I found a recipe online for baked doughnuts…….which of course you need a doughnut pan for and I didn’t have! So after calling almost all of the stores in this sometimes unbelievably small town, I found one! Of course I paid double what I could have got it online for…….but like I said before….patience is not one of my strong points! I’ve got this doughnut craving, and now that I found I can finally have one…….. I want one and I want it now! This recipe is great because its not only super yummy, its quick (only 10 minutes to bake!) And when they come out of the oven, they are….. Fabulous….. melt-in-your-mouth delicious! Sooo light and fluffy and NOT greasy at all like you get with store-bought fried doughnuts. So these are almost guilt-free! And now that I have a doughnut pan (of course I then had to buy a mini-doughnut pan as well!) I can make all kinds of doughnuts! Needless to say….. there will be more doughnut recipes coming soon!

Here is a link to buy doughnut pans

And here is a basic cinnamon-sugar baked doughnut recipe to get you started!

Gluten Free Baked Doughnuts (Printable Version)

1 cup gluten free flour + ½ teaspoon xanthan gum
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
Dash of salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
6 oz vanilla yogurt
1 tablespoon oil
2 teaspoons lemon juice
2 1/2 tablespoons REAL maple syrup
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toss the cinnamon and sugar together in a shallow dish and set aside. In a large bowl whisk together all the dry ingredients. In another bowl stir together oil, lemon juice, maple syrup, egg and yogurt.

Make a hole in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients into the hole. Gently fold everything together until combined. The batter will be thick.

Spray your doughnut pan with Pam spray. Scoop batter into a piping bag or ziploc bag, snip a bottom corner with scissors, and squeeze out the batter evenly into a doughnut pan.

Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool for a few minutes and then flip over onto a cooling rack while still warm.

Use a pastry brush, brush the melted butter over your donuts and then dip each doughnut in the cinnamon sugar mixture to coat. Serve immediately after coating with cinnamon sugar mixture for best texture.

Yields 6 large doughnuts or 24 mini-doughnuts

Adapted from: Melissa Bakes

Leave a Comment

